a French Foreign Legion Forum

Welcome! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hopefully, a new beginning

Reaction score
Home Country
Philippine
Greetings and good day, everyone!

My name is Dave and I'm a 33-year-old licensed doctor living in the Philippines. I won't bore you guys with my whole life's story, but to put it succinctly, I was pushed (or rather, forced) into medicine by my family and after weeks of bitter conflict and years of misery going through med school and working as possibly the last thing I wanted to become, things came to a head (no longer on good terms with the fam) and I'm finally in control of my life again.

However, to cut to the chase and get to the point, I was thinking of joining the Legion. There's nothing left for me where I am and opportunities in other fields, despite my qualifications, are pretty terrible. Currently, I'm in moderate physical shape (which I am working to improve) with a clean bill of health and no criminal record. No wife or kids to tie me down or hold me back, either. I'm willing to give it my all to get through selection and if I'm accepted, then the Legion would be the only family I have from that point forward, meaning I'd be in it for the long term. All that remains now is to get things settled at my end and book a trip to Paris or Aubagne. So with that being the case...

Should I follow through with this? And if so, what do you think my chances of being accepted are?

(Thank you all for your time, input, and consideration)

Surfguy

Super Active Member
Reaction score
Home Country
United Kingdom
Interesting , are the Legion interested in academics /qualified doctors ? I suspect you may be over qualified .

Reaction score
Home Country
Philippine