Thread: Recent Legion deployments

Post Thanks / Like

Recent Legion deployments

I am interested to know what kind of engagements the Legion has been involved in recently, say since 2000 - particularly to hear from someone who knows.

There are the obvious - I assume that some Legion forces must have been deployed to Afghanistan, and to the more recent conflicts in West Africa. But even given that, what kind of role do they play there? Are there other, smaller conflicts they are involved in, that never make the news?

It seems that recently France's role in conflict, and by extension that of the Legion, is limited to peace-keeping operations. So have Legionaires recently seen open combat?

Thanks
    redfox

Post Thanks / Like
    Country
    New Zealand
    Live by Chance. Love by Choice. Kill by Profession.

Post Thanks / Like

Question Thanks

Thanks for the reply - it's an interesting graph. But it still doesn't get to the point. Of these 33 000 troops, with over twenty deployments, most seem to be permanently based, or garrisoned overseas.

Where is the Legion actually fighting, or where have they fought in the last five years? And when was it peacekeeping, and when was the last time they've actually fired a shot in anger.

And do they, especially the 2e REP, get involved in things that you won't see on that map?

Post Thanks / Like
    Country
    New Zealand
    Unless your an historian, I wouldn't think such information is relevant to a wannabe.

If you are trying to use the French Legion's record of combat as a deciding factor on whether or not you join, I would suggest you re-think your reasons for joining.

The last deployment of the REP I heard of was in Bosnia, or somewhere close to that area. The French Defense website has that kind of information, that is the source of the above Map.

Post Thanks / Like
    Country
    Canada
    Redfox,